Cabinet Approves Meteorological Authority Board of Directors

Bwango Apuuli, the Board Chairman at Uganda National Meteorological Authority (UNMA)

Cabinet has approved the appointment of the second Board of Directors of the Uganda National Meteorological Authority (UMNA), Ofwono Opondo, the Executive Director of the Uganda Media Centre says.

The decision was reached during a cabinet sitting on Monday July 1 at State House Entebbe.

The confirmed chairman of the Board is Bwango Apuuli. Other members include Hajjat A K Sebyala, Ssengendo Kaweesa Keefa, Jane Aciro, Anne Florence Luziraa, David Liliro Nadhomi and Charles Walimbwa Peke are the other individuals confirmed as board members.

Uganda National Meteorological Authority (formerly Department of Meteorology) under Ministry of Water and Environment, is a semi autonomous government authority for weather and climate services (UNMA Act. 2012) and a focal institution to Inter-Governmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), an international body mandated to carryout scientific research on climate change.

It is mandated to promote, monitor weather and climate as well as provide weather predictions and advisories to Government and other stakeholders for use in sustainable development of the country.

Got Something To Say?

Leave a comment.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *