LIST: 50 Primary School Teachers to Be Awarded for Exceptional Performance


At least 50 Primary School teachers are set to be awarded by government for their exceptional performance, the Ministry of Education has revealed.

The State Minister for Primary Education, Rosemary Nansubuga Seninde told a news conference on Monday that the 50 Primary School teachers will be recognized and awarded during the forthcoming National Primary Teachers’ Conference.

The conference, the second edition, is scheduled to take place from September 5 to 7 this year at the London College of St Lawrence, Maya in Wakiso district.

It will attract the participation of 4,000 primary school teachers and 170 district and municipality officials.

“The conference aims at celebrating the contribution of teachers towards learning, community and national growth, as well as harnessing their partnership and innovation for development,” the Minister told reporters at Uganda Media Centre.

President Yoweri Museveni and the First Lady who doubles as Minister for Education and Sports, Janet Museveni will attend the conference.

There will be keynote addresses delivered by select dignitaries, as well as plenary sessions and over 20 parallel sessions, focused on exposing teachers to the teaching dynamics of the 21st Century.

Seninde said the topics will entail aspects of; practice of teaching, and development of instructional materials.

“The conference will inspire the teachers for high performance and also engage them as pertinent stakeholders in the development of quality education in Uganda,” she said.

She added: “We are all aware that the primary teachers play a crucial role. They build the foundation of education. So, we want to recognize their contribution”.

On the final day of the conference, President Museveni will recognize and award the various categories of the outstanding primary school teachers.

The list released by the Ministry of Education containing the 50 recipients for the Award shows that the awardees are spread across the different districts of Uganda. However, some districts like Rukungiri, Wakiso, Kampala, Ngora, Isingiro, Nebbi and Buhweju have more than one recipient.

The Awards ceremony will be followed with a reception dinner.

The National Primary Teachers’ Conference (NPTC) was initiated based on Primary Teachers being crucial to the delivery of Uganda’s educational goals as prescribed in the Education and Sports Sector Strategic Plan, Uganda’s National Development Plan II.


The inaugural National Primary Teachers Conference was held in 2018 and it brought together at least 3,000 teachers to discuss strategies of improving primary education in the country. The Ministry launched the Primary Teachers’ Prize and the National Teachers Incentive Framework.

Got Something To Say?

Leave a comment.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *