‘People Power’, FDC Leaders Among those that Shied Away from Signing Motion to Censure Gen Tumwine

Security Minister, Gen Elly Tumwine appearing before the Parliament committee recently

Kasambya County Member of Parliament, Mbwatekamwa Gaffa has come out with a list of Members of Parliament (MPs) that appended their signatures on the motion to censure the Minister of Security, Gen. Elly Tumwine over contempt of Parliament.

On February, 5, 2020 Parliament passed a motion calling for censure of Gen. Tumwine on allegations that he has continuously help Parliament in contempt.

Tumwine was also accused of failing Parliament committee work when he stopped members of the Human Rights Committee to visit safe houses in the country.

The law states that for any Minister to be censured, half of the members of the House must append their signature of the motion. In Tumwine’s case, at least 150 signatures were required.

On Thursday, the lead petitioner, Mbwatekamwa (mover of the motion) announced he was withdrawing the motion after he only managed to raise only 40 signatures.

“I today want to release a list of people who are not traitors that stood out to support the motion without chickening out,” Mbwatekamwa said.

He said it is unfortunate that even the vocal opposition members shied away from the motion yet they were debating (on the motion) in the House with a lot of energy.

“Let no one deceive you that he is fighting human rights abuses, even the committee members who brought the report never signed the petition; one wonders if you brought a report calling for any reprimand against the general and Parliament moved a resolution but then shied away from signing,” Mbwatekamwa said.

Some of the legislators who did not sign have told the press that they considered censuring the Minister an unfair penalty. They said the mover of the motion ought to have opted for other alternatives that are less serious.

Among the MPs in the opposition whose signatures were missing on the petition is People Power National Coordinator, Robert Kyagulanyi alias Bobi Wine, FDC’s Secretary General, Nandala Mafabi, Nakawa Municipality MP, Michael Kabaziguruka, Abdul Katuntu, Nabilah Nagayi among others.

Those that signed include; Odur Jonathan, Okupa Elijah, Oulanyah Gilbert, Olega Ashraf, Ongerthor Emanuel, Latif Ssebagala, Ssekikubo Theodre, Sempala Kigozi, Robinah Sentongo, Nganda Ssemuju, Allan Sewanyana, Tinkasimire Barnabas, Zaake Francis, Abacon Angiro, Acidri James, Akello Lucy, Akol Anthony, Amoding Monica, Atim Cecilia Ogwal, Betty Nambooze, Basalirwa Asuman, Centenary Robert.
Kap Fungaroo, Moses Kasibante, Medard Sseggona, Gaffa Mbwatekamwa, Mathius Mpuga, Muhindo Harold, Muwanga Kivumbi, Nambeshe John Baptist, Namayanja Florence, Veronica Nanyondo, Wilfred Nuwagaba, Nsereko Muhamad, Aol Betty Ochan, Ochen Julius, Fred Turyamuhweza, Charles Gutmoi, Adeke Anne Ebbaju and Joseph Ssewungu.

Got Something To Say?

Leave a comment.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *