WhatsApp Introduces Feature Stopping Group Admins From Adding People Without Consent


0Shares

Mobile Application, WhatsApp, which enables users to chat with one another, one-to-one or as a group has finally introduced a feature that will prevent admins of WhatsApp groups from adding individuals without their consent.

Owned by Facebook, WhatsApp allows users to send text messages and voice messages, make voice and video calls and share images, documents, user locations and other media.

It currently boasts over one billion users in the world.

But, for sometime now, many users have been inconvenienced by Admins of WhatsApp groups adding them in groups they are not interested in or even at times, not identifying with the members and the groups’ objectives.

Now, in the latest control, this new privacy setting and invite system will help users to decide who can add them to groups.

To enable it, go to Settings in your app, then tap Account > Privacy > Groups and select one of three options: “Everyone,” “My Contacts,” or “My Contacts Except.”

“My Contacts” means only users you have in your address book can add you to groups and “My Contacts Except” provides additional control for who among your contacts can add you to a group.

“In those cases, an admin who can’t add you to a group will be prompted to send a private invite through an individual chat, giving you the choice of joining the group. You’ll have three days to accept the invite before it expires,” reads a statement by WhatsApp

With these new features, users will have more control over the group messages they receive.

These new privacy settings will begin rolling out to some users starting today and will be available worldwide in the coming days to those using the latest version of WhatsApp.

0Shares
Got Something To Say?

Leave a comment.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *