Winfred Kiiza Dropped as Leader of Opposition, Replaced by Betty Ochan

Betty Aol Ochan, the Woman MP for Gulu district is the new Leader of Opposition in Parliament

FDC has made changes in its leadership in Parliament which have seen the Leader of Opposition, Winfred Kiiza replaced by Betty Aol Ochan, the Woman MP for Gulu district.

The changes were announced on Friday by the Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) President, Patrick Amuriat.

Semujju Nganda maintains his position as the Opposition Chief Whip, but his Deputy, Roland Mugume Kaginda has been posted to the Inter Parliamentary Union and has been replaced by Tonny Muhindo.

Buhweju MP, Francis Mwijukye has been made the Commissioner and Betty Nambooze the
CPA Representative.

Kawempe South MP Mubarak Munyagwa has replaced Abdu Katuntu as the Chairperson of the Committee on Commissions, Statutory Authorities and State Enterprises (COSASE).

Others who have been appointed to head the shadow Committees in Parliament are Nandala Mafabi (Public Accounts) and will be deputized by MP Philip Polly Okin of Chua West.

Franka Akello will head Local Government with Gilbert Olanya as her deputy while Kaps Hassan Fungaroo will Chair the Public Assurance Committee with Michael Kabaziguruka as his Deputy.

Roland Kaginda was named head of the Inter-Parliamentary Union, while DP’s Betty Nambooze was named CPA Representative.

Many are linking the decision by FDC President, Patrick Amuriat to drop Winfred Kiiza as Leader of Opposition, to the friction that has existed between the two leaders since the party Presidential elections that saw Mugisha Muntu lose to Amuriat. In the highly charged election, Kiiza had backed Muntu.

Got Something To Say?

Leave a comment.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *